Bertrand Russell: Why I am not a Christian

Today, I sat next to a priest on the tube. He was wearing his white collar, and I could feel myself hesitating slightly before taking my book out of my bag. For a split second I thought that it might be disrespectful for me to pull out Why I am Not a Christian by Bertrand Russell. But then I realized that was nonsense and started reading.

I don’t know how popular Mr Russell was during his lifetime (though I can imagine many disapproved of his views), and neither do I know how well-known he is today among the general public. He was born in 1872 and died ninety-eight years later in 1970. He was a philosopher, mathematician, historian, and profound social critic, among other things. There are a great many people, I think, who’d do well with reading some of his writings. Why I am not a Christian is a selection of his essays and lectures, most of them written during the first forty years of the 20th century. Still, the aspects of the issues he confronts are just as relevant today. Unfortunately.

Even though I’m not a religious person myself, I’m very fascinated by religion and how powerful a grip it can have on human beings. In 1930, Mr Russell wrote:

Hitherto species of mankind have survived because however foolish their purposes might be they had not the knowledge required to achieve them. Now that this knowledge is being acquired, a greater degree of wisdom than heretofore as regards the ends of life is becoming imperative. But where is such wisdom to be found in our distracted age?

I wonder how he would view 2012. Wiser? Or maybe just even more distracted. I think I’d go with the last one.

In 2005, the UN estimated that, without greater access to drugs or the development of new medication, AIDS will kill more than 80 million Africans by 2025, HIV infections reaching an asthonishing 90 million – 10% of the continent’s population. A crucial way to stop the spread of this disease is the use of condoms. But some beg to differ.

When speaking to African bishops at the Vatican, also in 2005, the current pope Benedict named divorce and “a contraception mentality” as major threats to the very “fabric of African life”.  According to the Catholic Church’s ‘Holy Father’, AIDS should be fought by fidelity and abstinence.

In Why I am not a Christian, Bertrand Russell names the Christian religion’s attitude towards sex as its absolute worst feature – it is “morbid and unnatural”.

The Church did what it could to secure that the only form of sex which it permitted should involve very little pleasure and a great deal of pain.

He continues:

The opposition to birth control has, in fact, the same motive: if a woman has a child a year until she dies worn out, it is not to be supposed that she will derive much pleasure from her married life; therefore birth control must be discouraged.

The conception of Sin which is bound up with Christian ethics is one that does an extraordinary amount of harm, since it affords an outlet for their sadism which they believe to be legitimate, and even noble.

This was also written in 1930 – a time when the state of New York still officially held that masturbation caused insanity. Today, the 2012 US election campaign has had an unbelievably strong focus on contraception and birth control. I wouldn’t be surprised if some of the more conservative candidates would happily suggest to reinstate the above masturbation law – it is a logical assumption to make, based on their various statements during the past few years. Their views on contraception is, at best, ignorant and stupid – they don’t seem to understand quite what it’s about. Another issue is the rapid increase of the world’s population. If anything, this shows that contraception is something we are very much in need of using. That is, as Bertrand Russell says, “if we were not prevented by the political influence of the Churches which prefer war, pestilence, and famine to contraception”.In 1940, Mr Russell was prevented from teaching in New York. His writings were seen as “lecherous, libidinous, lustful, venerous, erotomaniac, aphrodisiac, irreverent, narrow-minded, untruthful, and bereft of moral fiber” – I can’t help but think that these would be much better suited for many of today’s politicians than for anything he ever wrote.

In 1936, Mr Russell predicted that marriage would, after a while, loose its centrality in society, and cease to be customary “except among the rich and the religious”. In Norway, where I grew up, it is perfectly common these days for two people to live together and have children without being married, but I know several, also from “Western” countries, who find this somewhat strange. On another note, it is proving very hard to accomplish marriage for some who do wish to go down that road. It’s astonishing how intolerant most societies are towards gay people, despite the progress of the past decades. It’s disturbing that thirty people were killed in the United States in 2011 because of their sexual orientation. And even though we Norwegians like to think of ourselves as very open-minded, a young Norwegian man proved us wrong a few days ago when he wrote an article about his experience. When he told his buddies that he’s gay, they stopped hanging out with him. His family tells him he should change – people will laugh at him, think he’s weird. Even more alarmingly, he’s received death threats. He says it’s about time we all understand that gay people are just like straight people – the only difference is that they happen to fall in love with those of their own gender. Why is this so hard to tolerate?

Discrimination, taboos, depreciation of intelligence, and fear is still highly resonant in our societies, mainly because of religion. I believe that we can excuse people of earlier days for their ignorance in relation to many things, though not necessarily their harmful reactions to it. But when I hear the same sort of opinions today – that homosexuality is a disease, that they shouldn’t be able to get married or have children, racist comments, discrimination – I’m less forgiving. We have a vast amount of knowledge today, but yet there is a reluctance to actually apply it in a kind and reasonable way. Why are we so determined to be so self-destructive?

Bertrand Russel wrote in 1927:

A good world needs knowledge, kindliness, and courage; it does not need a regretful hankering after the past, or a fettering of the free intelligence by the words uttered long ago by ignorant men.

I coudn’t agree more. Most people are religious today because they grew up surrounded by a certain belief – not necessarily indoctrinated, but nevertheless strongly influenced by superstition. One of my nearest “neighbours” where I live at the moment is The Kingdom Hall of Jehovas Witnesses. Every weekend many families go there. There’s nothing wrong with that per se (a branch of religion created by some guys in the US in the 1970s is no less genuine than one created by some guys a few thousand years ago), but I can’t help thinking about the kids and whether they really want to be there.

I have previously written about unnecessary fears on this blog, especially in relation to religion. I am of the opinion, as was Bertrand Russell, that fear is the main source of religion. He went a little further and called religion “a disease born of fear” and “a source of untold misery to the human race”. Nevertheless, I agree with him. Fear is the basis of most wrong-doing in the world. When people are scared, they act irrationally. If these people have not been educated, the road to fear is very short, and it can result in extreme opinions and, sometimes, violent acts. Fear makes us want to think someone is taking care of us, that there’s someone to rely on when things don’t go as well as we’d hoped. The views that many express in Europe today scare me – that we’re on the range of war, that we need to protect ourselves from a certain enemy, close our borders, and not accept those that are different. But it doesn’t make me believe in God. It seems to me that the economic crisis has had far worse consequences than countries going bankrupt, and we need to be careful and work hard to not let those sentiments take over. Mr Russell wrote in 1931, with a rather large hint of irony, that “the foreigner is a morally degrading influence, and we all owe a debt of gratitude to the police for the care which they take to see that only exceptionally virtuous foreigners are allowed to reside among us”. This attitude is still highly present today. Fear and hatred is, above all, unnecessary – it would be perfectly possible to completely eliminate these emotions from human nature through the knowledge we possess.

According to Bertrand Russell, religion “has been and still is the principal enemy of moral progress in the world”. It has created taboos that have caused a massive amount of harm for many from an early age. It teaches children “a superstitious attitude about certain parts of the body, about certain words and thoughts”, while we should rather answer their curiosity as honestly as we possibly can. This leads back to the church’s image of sex. If children’s questions aren’t answered honestly, they can become “stiff and awkward in all matters of love” – a natural result when having to go from a strict taboo to perfect competence, with nothing in-between.

1930:

The attitude that one ought to believe such and such a proposition, independently of the question whether there is evidence in its favour, is an attitude which produces hostility to evidence and causes us to close our minds to every fact that does not suit our prejudices.

(…)

Religions prevents our children from having a rational education; religion prevents us from removing the fundamental causes of war; religion prevents us from teaching the ethic of scientific cooperation in place of the old fierce doctrines of sin and punishment. It is possible that mankind is on the threshold of a golden age; but, if so, it will be necessary first to slay the dragon that guards the door, and this dragon is religion.

Why don’t we strive even harder to use the amazing knowledge we actually possess? Though limited in the greater scheme of things, it is extraordinary what human beings are able to do on the basis of the knowledge we’ve acquired so far. I’m sure people at all stages through history have  believed that they’ve come quite far. It’s hard for us to imagine development beyond our lifetime. But the truth is, we’re only a tiny piece of history. And the world – and thereby it’s population – will continue to evolve constantly. But some area are unnecessarily hindered, by us.

To be fair, religion has improved in some ways. Witches are no longer burned on stakes, and most peoples’ knowledge of the feared Inquisition today derives from a Monty Python sketch. But why is this?

It is no credit to the orthodox that they do not now believe all the absurdities that were believed 150 years ago. (…) It is thanks to the generations of Freethinkers, who, from the Renaissance to the present day, have made Christians ashamed of many of their traditional beliefs.

Bertrand Russell called himself an agnostic. I would call myself an atheist. By this I mean that I do not believe that there is a god or any supernatural being who watches over us. I can’t say that I know God doesn’t exist, but I can say that I don’t believe in him. I don’t mean to put myself above anyone who might believe – I fear things as well. I’m ridiculously scared of spiders. I fear the dark. My thoughts easily get carried away to create the most absurd scenarios. But I don’t fear a god, because – in my mind – he does not exist. And it pains me to see the damage that the belief in him has caused in the world. Because people never interpret things in the same way – there will always be different versions of the same tale. It’s like that game we play as kids, when we stand in a line and one person at one end whispers a sentence to the next person. The phrase is passed along, all the way to the other end. Along the way someone might mishear something. Someone might choose to change the phrase deliberately, trying to be funny. The result at the other end is always completely different. This is how history works. This is how human beings work. And this is how religions have been created.

I believe in thought, in the perks of life, in happiness, and kindness. That is my “religion”, if you will. I’m glad that I – as an atheist – can sit next to priest on the tube. I’m glad that we get along. We can both believe what we want, and we can both have our opinions about the other. But while religion has caused untold suffering for centuries, my belief has resulted in suffering only because those who dared utter it were deemed heretics by the religious.

Unlike those who believe, I don’t think there is an afterlife. Again, I agree with Mr Russell, and I think this post – which is clearly in honour of his philosophy – should be ended by one of the most beautiful quotes I know:

I believe that when I die I shall rot, and nothing of my ego will survive. I am not young and I love life. But I should scorn to shiver with terror at the thought of annihilation. Happiness is nonetheless true happiness because it must come to an end, nor do thought and love lose their value because they are not everlasting. Many a man has borne himself proudly on the scaffold; surely the same pride should teach us to think truly about man’s place in the world. Even if the open windows of science at first make us shiver after the cosy indoor warmth of traditional humanizing myths, in the end the fresh air brings vigour, and the great spaces have a splendour of their own.


This entry was posted in Books, Education, Life, Philosophy, Politics, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Bertrand Russell: Why I am not a Christian

  1. Sumirti says:

    Thats an excellent post :) :) Loved reading it n I love ur thoughts, clear n concise.
    And thanks for all those quotes of Mr. Russell.

    Take care

  2. Anita says:

    Thank you! I’m glad you liked it.

  3. Lena says:

    Anita…. this is a fantastic paper on religion. I’m so glad there are young people like you who help others to make a step forward into knowledge. I totally agree with you… you’ve put words on what I believed since I was able to “think” and you did it in such a complete and honest way!
    Thanks for sharing sweetie…. ;-)

  4. Michael says:

    This is absolutely amazing! I second everything already said!

  5. Emma says:

    Wow, Anita! Really impressive! Well done, you! :) x

  6. Alex says:

    Frank Herbert must’ve read Russel’s reflections, since Bene Gesserit (a feminine organisation in the Dune series, that reflects the cold and rational mind, they hold power over others by knowledge and understanding of emotions, fears, dogmas, etc.) have developped a special kind of ‘litany’, (though they’re not religious in the very meaning of beliving in things, they’re very rational) called ‘Litany Against Fear:’

    “I must not fear.
    Fear is the mind-killer.
    Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
    I will face my fear.
    I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
    And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
    Where the fear has gone there will be nothing……Only I will remain.”

    This strikes me, the rational minds telling you: your biggest enemy is fear. I couldn’t agree more, in fact, misjudging, fearing and all the actions connected with estimation of others, when they fail, they pose the biggest threat to human. It is astonishing how important it is for an astronaut or anyone connected with physic science NOT to make an error, which could result in death of innocent, yet many religious/prejudiced people didn’t care about making error, in their killing sprees of yet innocent, but ‘sinful’ humans. Whathever their sin is, homosexuality, rational thinking differing from Bible’s dogmas, ‘witches casting curses’ etc.

    • Anita says:

      Hey Alex,
      Thanks for your comment! I agree that there are many unnecessary fears out there that limit people in their daily lives. Sometimes it’s hard to confront them, but in the end that’s the best thing you can do, I think.
      And I think that fear is absolutely the basis of religion – if people didn’t fear death or any other misfortune (or a lifestyle different than what they’re used to, for that matter) to such a degree, religion would be unnecessary. So I think you’re right to say that fear is possibly our biggest enemy – because it leads to so many things that we could do very well without.

      Take care!

  7. Peter Hardy says:

    I liked this article, after all it is an important book. I’m not sure why you think a priest would have objected to you reading it as I’ve seen it in several church bookshops, along with The God Delusion.

    However, although I am not against contraception I strongly disagree with your implication that the Catholic Church is worsening, not alleviating the AIDS crisis. To wade through all the anti-Catholic propaganda, what the church actually says -and has been right about thus far- is that the shift in cultural attitudes to sex brought on by the widespread availability and popularisation of contraception will tend to increase rates of unwanted pregnancies (and thereby abortions) and sexually transmitted infections. Of course the Church concedes that this is counter-intuitive, contraception by definition protects against unwanted pregnancy, and condoms do prevent the spread, through genital intercourse, of STIs. So how then can this be true?

    First, we must distinguish between the use of contraception in theory and the use of it in practice. In theory it should work every time. In practice people become over-reliant on contraception and expect to be able to have sex whenever they want without risking pregnancy. This spreads a culture of causal sex and ‘riskier’ forms of sex. This culture has now had several generations to develop unchecked, with increasing complacency about the depth of the link between sex and procreation.

    So with the amount of causal sex having dramatically risen its obvious that the rates of unwanted pregnancies and transmission of disease will rise too. This can occur for four reasons. First, people do not develop a healthy attitude of temperance towards sex, such that when contraception is not available they will have sex anyway, too impassioned to appreciate the gravity of the risk and deluding themselves that ‘it cannot happen to me’. Second, it only takes a condom to be fitted improperly once for unwanted pregnancy to occur. Third, it is likewise the case with condoms splitting, it only needs to happen once. Even high quality ones can do this, it happens every day. But the condoms available in developing countries are very seldom of a high quality. This is not only because they can only afford the worst quality but because it has not been possible to enforce and regulate production standards like we do in developed countries. So the forth reason is that condoms in the developed world are unfortunately more likely to fail at least one time. And it is only one time that is needed to spread a fatal disease. So the only way to protect 100% against AIDS is through abstinence and/or fidelity to one partner. And if you really do care about human life, you should respect as superior the one method that guarantees 100% protection.

    Next, I urge you to read this short article (from a secular and reputable news source) which cites empirical evidence for the church’s stance being correct: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/03/27/AR2009032702825.html

    Having read that you may agree that yes, in practice the Catholic method is safer than the contraception method, but maintain that this view of the practicalities of the situation is flawed because it is itself dependent on the theory that all Catholics in countries effected by the AIDS pandemic will be able to be abstinent or keep faithful to one partner. That is to say, the church’s teaching that the use of contraception is sinful does cause a substantial amount of suffering because while they are not supposed to, in reality many Catholics will spread AIDS by having sex with multiple partners without using protection. Now, at first glance that may look like a reasonable objection, but there is a gaping hole in the logic.

    Did you spot it? It imputes no small amount of irrationality to these people to suppose that they would disregard the church’s central dogma on sex- that sexual relations are to be reserved for husbands and wives within a monogamous marriage, while remaining obedient to the church’s much less important teaching on contraception. Of course if they are prepared to commit the grave sin of adultery they are not going to be concerned about the comparatively trivial sin of using a condom. So when a Catholic does have unprotected sex where there is a risk of transmitting a fatal disease they cannot be doing so out of obedience to Catholicism; it is their own selfish interest in pleasure and disregard for the safety of their sexual partner that is to blame and not the church’s teaching.

    Finally, the charitable arm of the Catholic Church is the single largest provider of care for AIDS victims in Africa, so it is very unlikely that they would devote so much resources for tackling a problem if it could reasonably shown the particularities of their teaching was causing it. Indeed the evidence shows that countries with lower proportions of Catholics tend to have higher HIV/AIDS infection rates, not lower ones. So to conclude, while the church does need to do a lot of work to clarify it’s view here, particularly on the ground level in the affected areas, the the church and its particular doctrine here are certainly not in themselves making the pandemic worse.

    • Anita says:

      Hey Peter,
      Thanks for your extensive comment. I appreciate your thoughts on this, but do not quite agree with you.

      Firstly, I didn’t mention the priest I sat next to on the tube because I thought he would object to my book in any way. I just found it fascinating that it crossed my mind that he might be offended, though (as I wrote) I quickly realized that it was an irrational assumption. He might have had the same book in his briefcase for all I know.

      Secondly I want to comment a bit on what you say about the Catholic Church and the use of contraception to prevent HIV/AIDS. My argument is basically that of Bertrand Russell (which is why I based the post on his book): condoms and other forms of contraception should be available and people should be educated about sex from a young age, and no one should use their religious authority to discourage this education. The Catholic Church’s view is that contraception is a threat, and that people should rather be faithful to their partner or abstain from sex altogether. I completely agree with the faithfulness, but I don’t think it very plausible that many will adhere to complete abstinence. Sex is a natural thing, but people need to be educated about its consequences. This is something neither you nor Edward Green’s article mentions. Sexual awareness is the key to end the culture of multiple sex partners, to make contraception available and common, and thereby prevent diseases such as AIDS. The Catholic Church does not, in my opinion, contribute with knowledge consistent with the present day, nor does any religion.

      Of course you’re quite right in saying that condoms don’t work 100% of the time, but does this automatically mean that we should refrain from using them? I don’t think so. That would mean that the efforts of many people, in many circumstances, would be useless, since the result of their actions isn’t perfect.

      The main topic of my post was not about contraception, but it served as an example to show how religion harms a lot more than it benefits us. And that is my main point, and the reason why I agree with Bertrand Russell’s philosophy. Obviously I agree with the fact that people might not always follow what their religious leaders say, but it is still incredibly harmful that a leader such as the pope condemns something as important as contraception as sin. The concept of sin is horrible to begin with, and the label that comes with it is extremely harmful. It is as Russell said: Religion prevents a rational education – problems relating to overpopulation and the transmission of diseases could be thwarted, “if we were not prevented by the political influence of the Churches which prefer war, pestilence, and famine to contraception”.

      So, I guess we can agree to disagree on some aspects of this. Thanks for reading, and take care!

      • Peter Hardy says:

        Thanks, well as I said at the outset I am not personally against contraception although I am a catholic and therefore of course I do believe that ‘sin’ is a helpful term. Generally I can accept what you’re saying but I would disagree with your opinion that on sex education: “The Catholic Church does not… contribute with knowledge consistent with the present day”. I don’t doubt that this is true in some areas, but in my case as someone who was educated in Catholic school from the age of 5 to 18 there was nothing important I was not taught in sex education. Masturbation and contraception, for example, were covered appropriately and in reference both to the biology and practical circumstances.

        As a result of this and my previous comment, I don’t see how you justify your conclusion that “it is still incredibly harmful that a leader such as the pope condemns something as important as contraception as sin”, since if you are going to listen to the pope ipso facto contraception is not important to you.

      • Anita says:

        Naturally, religion – and whatever education it might provide – will never be consistent across the board. I’m sure a somewhat liberal Catholic family and a orthodox one would teach their children very differently. Still, I think our opinions might differ as to how one covers subjects “appropriately” in school. I am of the opinion that religion shouldn’t be mixed with education (or politics for that matter) at all, though I understand that this is pretty much inevitable in the world today.

        I’m not saying that listening to the pope means that contraception is not important to you. For some his words on contraception might be the first they hear of the matter at all. If they’re already using it, hopefully they won’t stop just because he says so, because they’ll know how useful and important it is. It is a known fact that education is something many aren’t lucky enough to enjoy in countries affected by AIDS in Africa, especially for girls. A lack of knowledge will increase the impact of religious leaders, the pope more than anyone else. I would think that what he says matters to those who believe, though not to the same extent for every Catholic person.
        On another note, if you think that it’s peoples’ “own selfish interest in pleasure and disregard for the safety of their sexual partner that is to blame and not the church’s teaching”, then why do you think they’d listen to the pope saying they should be faithful or abstain from sex altogether? If “these people” (as you put it), whoever they are, are so selfish, then I don’t see why they would care. I think it’s a serious generalisation to say it’s all about selfish interests. I’d rather put a great part of the blame (for deliberate misleading, not the AIDS epidemic as a whole) on strong authorities who like to take the higher moral ground and exert their power over those who’ll listen, in addititon to a substantial lack of knowledge and medicine.

        Finally, I don’t understand how contraception can be seen as sin, and I don’t see how the term ‘sin’ can be helpful in any way.

      • Peter Hardy says:

        This is a rather basic introduction to the helpfulness of the term ‘sin’, if it interests anyone: http://readingchaplaincy.wordpress.com/2012/04/29/what-are-we-saved-from/

  8. Praveen Kumar says:

    I just loved reading this post. There is a scarcity for the people like you in this world who always fight for humanity and reason.

Leave a comment